The Association for Canadian Studies in the United States (ACSUS) is a multi-disciplinary membership based organization committed to raising awareness and understanding of Canada and the bilateral relationship. ACSUS supports research and academic activity through its publications, conferences, and grant programs; promotes the academy through active advocacy and outreach; and positions the community by profiling the scope and diversity of research undertaken by the ACSUS membership in the humanities and social sciences.

The level of interdependence between Canada and the United States makes this partnership each country’s most important bilateral relationship. The academic community plays an important part in helping to educate policy makers and the public-private sectors about the economic, political, trade, security, defense, environmental, technological, scientific, and cultural dimensions of Canada-US relations.

In the United States there are more than seventy universities teaching courses on Canada to an estimated 20,000 undergraduate students each year. Five regional associations are also actively engaged in raising awareness of Canada. The integrated nature of the Canada-US partnership demands future leaders possess the tools to successfully navigate an increasingly complex world. The academic community represented and supported by ACSUS is key to this future success.

ACSUS serves its members and the community by:

  • Supporting teaching, research, and outreach on Canada and Canadian studies;
  • Publishing a refereed journal, The American Review of Canadian Studies;
  • Holding a biennial conference in odd-numbered years, consisting of papers, panels, and speakers, that provides a forum for disseminating information and research on Canada across all disciplines;
  • Holding a biennial colloquium in even-numbered years in Canada to explore an interdisciplinary topic in an intimate setting;
  • Maintaining communication linkages via newsletters and the Internet;
  • Publishing various textbooks and monographs for use in the classroom;
  • Providing fellowships, grants, and subventions for teachers, students, and scholars;
  • Recognizing excellence in Canadian studies through various awards for service, scholarship, and teaching;
  • Facilitating favorable relations and intellectual exchanges with other Canadian studies organizations;
  • Promoting linkages with government agencies and businesses that share an interest in improving Canadian-American relations;
  • Improving our understanding of Canada's history, literature, arts, peoples, cultures, politics, economy, and role in the international community.

Our Team

Alexandre Couture Gagnon
Sara Beth Keough
Vice President
Andrew Holman
David Rovinsky
Eric Weeks
Chief Information Officer
Christina Keppie
Past President
Miléna Santoro
Isabelle Fournier
Claire Campbell
Frédéric Rondeau
David J. Plazek
David Stewart
Soren Fanning
Peter Thompson
Steven Hayward
Special Counsel to the President


For all committees, membership is for the 2023-2025 term


Awards Committee (for all ACSUS and ICCS Awards)


Miléna Santoro, Georgetown University


Neil Forkey, St. Lawrence University
David J. Plazek, Vermont State University
Antoinette Williams-Tutt, Southern Methodist University


Diversity and Inclusion Committee


Cecil A. Foster, University at Buffalo - SUNY


Nominations Committee




1971: Richard A. Preston, Duke University

1971-73: Dale C. Thomson, Johns Hopkins SAIS

1973-75: Victor M. Howard, Michigan State University

1975-77: Edward J. Miles, University of Vermont

1977-79: Roger F. Swanson, Johns Hopkins SAIS

1979-81: Gerard F. Rutan, Western Washington University

1981-83: Ronald Tallman, University of Maine

1983-85: Peter Karl Kresl, Bucknell University

1985-87: J. Richard Beach, SUNY Plattsburgh

1987-89: Charles F. Doran, Johns Hopkins SAIS

1989-91: Victor Konrad, Foundation for Educational Exchange/The Canada-U.S. Fulbright Program

1991-93: Earl H. Fry, Brigham Young University

1993-95: Karen L. Gould, Bowling Green State University

1995-97: Joseph T. Jockel, St. Lawrence University

1997-99: Gregory Mahler, Kalamazoo College

1999-2001: Donald K. Alper, Western Washington University

2001-03: Thomas G. Barnes, University of California Berkeley

2003-05: George T. Sulzner, University of Massachusetts Amherst

2005-07: Diddy R.M. Hitchins, University of Alaska Anchorage

2007-09: Patrick James, University of Southern California

2009-10: Douglas Nord, Western Washington University

2010-11: Tamara Woroby, Johns Hopkins SAIS and Towson University

2011-13: Myrna Delson-Karan, CUNY/Queen's College

2013-15: Kenneth Holland, Ball State University

2015-17: Munroe Eagles, University at Buffalo, SUNY

2017-19: James McHugh, University of Akron

2019-22: Christopher Kirkey, SUNY Plattsburgh

2022-23: Christina Keppie, Western Washington University